• Best of Show 2016– How Did He Do It!

    2016 Best of Show UPAA. Photo by Nathaniel Ray Edwards, Utah Valley University

    Congratulations to Nate on Winning Best of Show in the 2016 UPAA Annual Print Competition. I asked Nate if he would submit a post about how he made this image. Below is the back story. 
    Behind the scenes photos by Jay Drowns all others by Nathaniel Ray Edwards

  • 2016 Multimedia Competition Winners

    Photo by Jaren Wilkey, Brigham Young University.

    The 2016 Multimedia Competition featured 22 entries a a wide variety of subjects. As in all UPAA competitions the winners were separated by a small margin, in this case less than .70 of a point. Familiar names again claimed the top spots but newcomers to UPAA are climbing closer to the top spots.

    Members of UPAA voted throughout the month of May and awards were presented at the 55th Annual Symposium held at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tennessee. 

    The Winners

  • Photographer of the Year Award Name Change

    Photo by Jaren Wilkey, Brigham Young University

    Eight times Photographer of the Year, 40 years a university photographer, five times a symposium host, five years president of UPAA, and one job interview. It should come at no surprise that the Board of Directors decided to name The Photographer of the Year Award after Mark Philbrick, photographer at Brigham Young University.

  • 2016 Annual Print Competition Winners

     Best of Show, by Nathaniel Ray Edwards, Utah Valley University

    UPAA members entered 256 prints in ten categories in the 2016 Annual Print Competition, held last week at the annual symposium in Clarksville, TN. Members attending the symposium judged the competition, giving awards to 49 prints. Nathaniel Ray Edwards, of Utah Valley University, won Best in Show for his portrait of a firefighter (above), and Mark Philbrick was the overall APC winner, placing five of his six entries. 

  • 2016 Nikon Shootout– Friends in Low Places

    Photo by Derek Eckenroth, Bob Jones University

    This year's UPAA Nikon Shootout winner is Derek Eckenroth, from Bob Jones University. Here is what he had to say about the challenges of the contest. For his efforts and excellent photograph Derek received a Nikon D750 and a Nikkor 24-120mm f/4 lens. 

  • Working with Fuji Raw Files

    Photo by Ken Bennett, Wake Forest University

    The Fuji booth was very popular at the 2016 UPAA Symposium in Clarksville, TN, and many members were able to borrow a camera and some lenses to test. For those of you who shot raw files and plan to process them in Lightroom, there are a couple of things to know in advance:

  • Thank Tank Retrospective 6

    Think Tank Photo Expands Popular Retrospective® Photography Shoulder Bag Collection with New Color and New Size 

  • Jim Stroup- Kelby Creative 2015 Winner


    Jim Stroup, photographer at Virgina Tech is this year's winner of the UPAA Kelby Creative Award. Kelby sponsors this award that recognizes exceptional work utiliziting Adobe Photoshop. This is the second year for this competition. The winner receives a pass to attend Photoshop world in Las Vegas.

  • Eric Bronson 2015 Photographer of the Year


    For the second time University of Michigan's Senior Photographer Eric Bronson captured the University Photographers' Association of America's highest award, Photographer of the Year. Contributing to this award was Eric's first place finish overall in the Monthly Image Competition. Combined with placing 5 prints in the Annual Print Competition secured the Photographer of the Year award.